I got to intern with the amazing folks in the Machine Learning and Optimization (MLO) team at Amazon. I explored different explainability options for some of the neural networks used in the advertising pipeline. I was tasked with detecting important training samples and using the returned samples to characterise the network’s behaviour. I mucked around a bit with Influence Functions and its linear ancestors. The highlight of the summer was undoubtedly the week long trip to Seattle where I got to check out (and work in) the fancy Spheres.

The Spheres

The Spheres

No trip to Seattle is complete without checking out the splendour of the Pacific Northwest. I got to visit the world’s first climbing gym before scrambling up Vesper Peak.

Vertical World

Vertical World

Vesper Peak

Vesper Peak